NaNoWriMo

Writing is My Hobby

So remember that 30 day challenge I posted a few weeks ago where I was going to do a couple lessons of Korean a day?

EPIC FAIL.

Oh yes, that’s right.  I publicly admit that I failed on my own challenge.  I can’t even say I started and got distracted.  I never even did one lesson.  That is pathetic.

However, I am willing to take the chance at humiliating myself further with an even bigger challenge…

NANOWRIMO (imagine that being said in the big scary Wizard of Oz voice with flashing lights all around)

NaNoWriMo is coming our way folks and despite last year’s sad, sad failure with me writing only 4,000 out of 50,000 words, I am ready to try again.  If you have not yet heard of NaNoWriMo, it’s short for National Novel Writing Month which happens every November.  It’s like a contest, only you are more…competing against yourself and Father Time instead of others.  The goal is to write a novel of 50,000 words during the month of November.  That means you have to write 1,667 words a day minimum.  This, my friends, is no easy task.    You are expected to finish November with a pretty ish-y novel, then go back and revise it later.  The point is to get the words out of your head and onto the ‘paper.’

In preparation for the upcoming month, I headed to our much loved English bookstore today, What The Book, and stocked up on some used chicklit books (haven’t gotten an e-reader just yet) to help inspire me to be witty in my own forthcoming chicklit novel.  I already have an idea for the novel so that’s definitely a step in the right direction.

Anyone else joining NaNoWriMo this year?

First book on the pre-NaNo-reading list…Every Boy’s Got One by Meg Cabot.   About half way done in a matter of hours and laughing on just about every page.  This woman is funny!  She writes like I think.  Perhaps I’ll write a review here for you when I’m finished.

Ta Ta For Now!!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynmidnight
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 03:25:58

    Aww, don’t worry about the Korean thing. NaNo is more fun! :P

    I’m doing NaNo for the fourth time this year and I am PSYCHED! I also started a site where WriMo’s encourage one another and share experiences. If you ever need a buddy or someone to poke you, find me at @wrimosftw. :)

    And btw, I love that you have a pre-NaNo reading list. I suppose Oct. is outlining month for me and Sept. was reading… The Hunger Games was the highlight. Since I’m doing dystopian this year. Yay for books! lol

    Reply

    • ficklefolly
      Oct 11, 2011 @ 03:51:30

      Nice! I’ll def come find you. My friends keep telling me about Hunger Games I have heard great things, but I can’t do any of the dark stuff when I read, I’m totally an escapism, happy ending kinda person, as cheesy as they are. :) Good luck this year!

      Reply

  2. fhhakansson
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 03:55:55

    I had no idea about the NaNoWriMo. Definitely need to try it next year! And the month is far from over. I bet you’ll make your 50 000 words ;)

    Reply

    • ficklefolly
      Oct 11, 2011 @ 03:46:26

      Well you can still sign up for this year. Starts November 1. I never heard of it until last year. Apparently a lot of English teachers here in Korea are writers on the side. LOL So many people here were talking about it.

      Reply

      • fhhakansson
        Oct 11, 2011 @ 15:13:02

        Hah, how embarrassing! I thought it was November. Glad it’s not because my birthday’s now in October.
        I really want to go to Korea some day. It seems like such an exciting place. Especially compared to Sweden (though one can never get too excited for Moose. You should try that if you never have). But I would need a translator. Unlike you I could never challenge myself to learn Korean.
        Btw, what was that 30 day challenge you failed? Oh right, the Korean lesson challenge. Not one single lesson is quite bad ;)

      • ficklefolly
        Oct 12, 2011 @ 03:25:21

        You should see Korea someday…or at least see some part of Asia. Such a different world over here, but I really like it. I’m a fan of the food too. And in Korea you don’t need a translator. There are enough people here who speak English and they are used to foreigners who don’t know any Korean, so as long as you stick to the main cities like Seoul, Busan, Jeju and maybe Daegu, you should be ok.

        And yes, not one lesson. Amazing huh? I don’t know how I will outdo myself next time! HAHAHA

        Thanks for stopping by :)

  3. 1 Story A Week
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 06:27:25

    I have been thinking about trying NaNoWriMo too. I gotta admit, though, I am scared I won’t be able to finish and I hate that thought!

    Reply

  4. Erin McNaughton
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 13:20:45

    I’m attemptingNaNoWriMo for the first time this year…I’m both excited and terrified! Good luck!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Guess What: I’m Doing NANOWRIMO! « Pretzels and Karma
  6. Trackback: Another Monday Has Come | My Writer's Cramp
  7. Trackback: Post-A-Day and NaNoWriMo « Smokebear
  8. Trackback: National Novel Writing Month – Dealing With Outside Distractions « My Two Cents
  9. Trackback: New NaNoWriMo site for 2011 is online
  10. Trackback: NaNoWriMo Update « Smokebear
  11. Trackback: It’s 11PM…Do You Know Where My Head Is? | My Writer's Cramp
  12. Trackback: Updates…and Writing for Your Health? « FickleFolly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

