Remakes, Prequels, Sequels and Adaptations

Dirty Dancing

Image via Wikipedia

According to an article I read today on Yahoo, there is a Dirty Dancing remake now in the works.  WHY?!?!?!  What is it with the movie industry these days?  Have they all run out of creative juice?  So much of what seems to be coming out in the past several years are movies that are either remakes (including remakes of old TV shows like Dukes of Hazzard or the A-Team), prequels, sequels (do we really need another Final Destination?) and Adaptations (Twilight anyone?).

Don’t get me wrong, most of these movies I enjoy because…well, I’m easy to please when it comes to movie entertainment.  However, I also like to see something come out where I don’t already know the ending or the setting or the characters.  I want to be surprised.  I think one of the many reasons Avatar was so popular was because the collective conscience of the movie-going mind said ‘finally something new!‘  It’s like the movie gods are now grasping for straws.  They want to keep popping out movies for money and can’t write the ideas fast enough, so they go and grab the hottest novel or an old blockbuster to re-do.  Maybe they should call in the team from Apple to help them be a little more innovative.

So, will I go see the Dirty Dancing remake?

Probably.

I’m a Latin dancer and that movie was the initial spark that inspired that particular passion in my life.

Will I be disappointed by the movie?

Probably.

Your mind has a way of perfecting memories in your head to help you connect to that warm feeling of nostalgia we all love.  So I doubt that the new movie will evoke in me the same kind of awe-inspiring feeling that I felt when I was…you know..8.

I’m sure some day I’ll rent Smurfs and I’ll love the next Sherlock Holmes, but in the meantime, can we get something new and different and unexpected?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Does this movie really need a remake? « Zombies Vampires and other Freaks

Leave a Reply

