What I Learned from a Mammoth, a Sloth and a Saber-tooth Tiger

That’s right folks, we are talking about Ice Age.  If you have seen any of the 3 movies, here is the trailer for the 4th which is due out in 2012.  (Might I mention that the movies are so well loved that the trailer does not even include the 3 main characters and people are still anxious to see it. 😉  ).

Have you ever thought about what you can learn from animated movies these days?  The lessons weaved into these plots are not just for children but for adults as well.  Shrek teaches us to accept and appreciate his friends despite his hermitic tendencies.  Mufasa of course skills us on the circle of life and taking responsibility.  Happy Feet shows us how to embrace our differences.  The list goes on and on.

Ice Age has taught me what my education system failed to do.  It showed me how it all comes together.  Of course throughout our school years we learn about dinosaurs, the ice age, the various animals and how they lived, etc.  But since each period or concept was taught in separate years and in separate ways, I never really understood what happened first and what came next and because of that it was hard to visualize it all.  But I watch Ice Age and it all starts to make sense.  Unreal right?  I know that Ice Age of course is a movie and not meant at all to be realistic, but having a visual representation displayed in a very basic way helps me to match up the few scant memories that I retained from all those years of learning.  It fascinates me to no end to think about how insanely long ago all of this happened.  I try to picture the world without people and with these giant reptile-like creatures roaming around instead.  The idea blows my mind.  Watching the movies got me pondering the idea even more and they have actually sparked my interest in paleontology.  I need to go back and re-learn it all now that it makes more sense.

It also makes me wonder if the big bad dinosaurs could go extinct, when will that happen to humans and what will replace us?  I got all this from a kid’s movie!  (and a funny one at that)

It’s like that book from awhile back called “All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten.”  All I really needed to know, I learned in animated films.

Leave a Reply

