The Northern Winds of Change…

Deutsch: Macchu Picchu, ein UNESCO-Weltkulture...

Image via Wikipedia

There are many times when I feel like Juliet Binoche’s character in Chocolat.  The pull of the winds tells me when it is time to move on.  One day I am amusing myself with thoughts of staying in the current city/state/country for a few years, and the next day I’m itching for a change and ready to take flight instantly.  It is so easy to get into a routine and forget that there is better out there for you.  So I am thankful for these demanding winds that remind me of all the places I have yet to see.

At times my desire to travel and see the sights is so strong that it is akin to the longing that can be felt for a distant love.  Today, for example, I was teaching a lesson on vacations (standard chapter in many ESL books) and looking at the pictures of Easter Island, Taj Mahal, Macchu Picchu, Grand Canyon, etc., I actually felt an ache in my body.  I felt sadness because there are so many places I have yet to see and my current job does not offer enough vacation time to accommodate them all.

However, I am hopeful, optimistic and quite determined to make my traveling desires become a reality.  I just need to find the right combination of income vs. travel opportunity in my next job to make it happen.  That is my priority.  I have always said that I do not care to climb the corporate ladder nor be rich.  It’s not about money for me.  It’s not about status either.  If I become a well-known magazine writer, awesome.  If I become a little-known waitress or barista, equally as awesome.  It’s about happiness.  I only want enough money to travel comfortably without worrying about the budget.  I spent too long daydreaming; now it’s time to MAKE IT HAPPEN.

On that note, I have posted my list of places I want to see (which grows every time I glance at it).  I posted this a few months ago elsewhere, but thought it was a good list to put on here as well so we can all share our traveling dreams together.

I ask you, where do YOU want to go and how are YOU going to make it happen?

Here are the Countries/Cities/Sights I want to visit, by region:

SOUTH/CENTRAL AMERICA/CARIBBEAN:

  1. Argentina – tango classes, the southernmost tip of the continent
  2. Brazil – rainforest
  3. Bolivia – suggestions?
  4. Chile – las montanas, el hielo
  5. Colombia – Santa Marta, Cali, Andres Cepeda concert/restaurant and perhaps volunteer with one of the Pies Descalzos schools for awhile
  6. Costa Rica
  7. Cuba – a country without American influence for 50 years!, the music
  8. Dominican Republic – beaches
  9. Guatemala
  10. Mexico – saw Cancun, want to see the ruins and the less touristy beaches
  11. Panama
  12. Peru – obviously Macchu Picchu amongst other things
  13. Puerto Rico – el Yunque
  14. Venezuela – Angel Falls

AFRICA/MIDDLE EAST

  1. Egypt
  2. Israel – Dead Sea
  3. Jordan
  4. Madagascar – biodiversity
  5. Morocco
  6. Turkey – saw Izmir, want to see Istanbul
  7. UAE – Dubai – architecture and salsa

EUROPE

  1. Austria
  2. Croatia – AGAIN!
  3. Czech Republic – Prague
  4. France – southern France
  5. Greece – Santorini
  6. Iceland – beautiful geology
  7. Ireland – castles
  8. Italy – AGAIN!  Florence, Tuscany, Roma, Milano
  9. Monaco – to see what the big deal is
  10. Poland
  11. Portugal
  12. Russia – St Petersburg, Moscow, Siberia and maybe Trans-Siberian railroad trip
  13. Spain – AGAIN!  Miss it immensely and have yet to see Barcelona or Malaga, and visit my Aunt/Uncle
  14. Scotland – highlands and castles
  15. England/Wales – AGAIN!  more castles and visit family

ASIA

  1. China – pandas, great wall, architecture
  2. India – Goa
  3. Indonesia – Bali
  4. Japan – salsa, style and food
  5. Macau
  6. Malaysia
  7. Philippines – swimming with whale sharks!
  8. Singapore – the zoo, the cleanliness
  9. Sri Lanka – resort vaca
  10. Taiwan – waterfalls and hot springs
  11. Thailand – elephants
  12. Vietnam – culture

ANTARCTICA – For the penguins of course, and to see a continent of ice

OCEANIA (AUSTRALIA FOR THE AMERICAN FOLK)

  1. Australia – salsa, animals
  2. Fiji
  3. New Zealand

NORTH AMERICA

  1. Alaska – animals, cruise
  2. Quebec – for the French influence
  3. US – 4 corners – more red rock, Grand Canyon
  4. US – SF – hills, bridges and liberal culture

P.S.  Got my renewed passport today (which btw is processed sooo much faster when outside the US) and they are actually much nicer and more interesting than those from the last decade.  I’m determined to need more pages added to my passport before this one expires!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. airsquadron
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 01:14:29

    may you wishes sooner comes true. greeting 😉

    Reply

    • Tiffani
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:26:49

      Thank you so much! I could use all the well wishes i can get to make all this travel possible. Are you hoping to see any new countries? Thanks for reading 🙂

      Reply

  2. Jackie
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 01:59:00

    And I thought my travel wish list was long! What can you do? When you have the travel gene there’s just no escaping it.

    Reply

    • Tiffani
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:24:49

      Exactly! The world is too diverse and fascinating to imagine not getting out to see some of it. We are fortunate to have the internet to see pictures but thats not enough for is travel minded people ;). What country is on top of your list? Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  3. sinpolaris
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 10:00:11

    Best of luck on making a dent in your list. As for me, I would like to visit London and the highlands of Scotland.

    BTW, if you’ve ever wondered (and I doubt you have) what is behind all those photographers who take that iconic shot of Machu Picchu, your answer is here (http://sinpolaris.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/machu-picchu-money-shot/).

    Reply

    • Tiffani
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 20:35:12

      Being a castle fan, the highlands are definitely higher up on my list. I’d like to take my mom on a castle tour of the UK someday. For now you have plenty in South America to explore…

      Reply

  4. Jacob
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 17:36:23

    I tried to make a list like this once. It did not end up working out. I just am not attracted to sights and I want to go everywhere! So I started making a list of places I do not want to go to… that didnt work either. I mean Salt Lake city was probably on the latter list and you changed that!

    Reply

    • Tiffani
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 20:37:35

      Glad I was able to be of assistance. 🙂 My friends back home always joke that I should have a job working for the tourism board for Salt Lake since I talk so highly of it. I say while you are over here, might as well check some of the Asian countries off your TO SEE list.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

