The Road to Femininity #3 – BB Me

IMG_2533

Image by issye via Flickr

I bought my first bottle of BB cream today.  I feel so…Korean.  Perhaps this means I am rounding out Culture Shock Phase 3 by acclimating to my surrounding culture.  HA!

For my non-Korean friends you may not have heard of it yet, so let me tell you what I learned today.  My dear friend Jenny finally gave me an intro to this Asian skin care phenomenon because I was looking for something to even out my skin tones and make me look a little less tired.  I figure combined with a little concealer I could reduce the bags under my eyes that my students so kindly point out on a weekly basis.  BB stands for Blemish Balm.  It is a cream that can be applied to the face after your morning ritual and before your makeup.  Depending on which one you get it claims to help with evening out skin tone, hiding wrinkles, curing blemishes, adding collagen, getting your skin to glow and some even have whitening (which I can only assume won’t be in the western versions).  I had to do a little shopping around to find one that did not have whitening because this British/Polish/Scottish skin does NOT need to be any whiter than it already is.

I had, of course, heard of BB cream before since it is advertised everywhere and is even used by the men here to get glowing skin.  In fact, one of my favorite actors – Kim Hyun Joong – advertises it (which I am grateful for since that means there are giant posters of his beautiful face all over Seoul).

Ahhhh…so pretty.  Not to mention his skin is always flawless!

But back to the cream.  I will be trying it out for myself and see if I notice a difference.  I shall keep you posted on my progress.

Have you ever tried it?  If so, what kind of results did you have?  If you live in the western countries, have you seen BB cream hitting the shelves yet?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PinkChampagneBeauty
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 05:35:01

    I bought a bb cream a few weeks ago.. Sadly it didn’t really work for me, because they all seem to be too pink for my skin tone, mine is slightly yellow, even though I am european. Have you come across any that have a yellow undertone? I would be happy to find one like that! Also… I love Kim Hyun Joong! I used to enjoy watching Korean dramas, and after I watched Boys Before Flowers, boy was I in love with him! 🙂

    Reply

    • Tiffani
      Jan 22, 2012 @ 08:29:58

      That’s how I found out who he was too! 🙂 We stopped by Face Shop yesterday and I remember seeing some that had colors like beige. So maybe they would have a different tint? Or you could try the BB foundation mixes, they might be less pinkish. Hope you find one!

      Reply

  2. Cafe23
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 02:08:10

    Hey Tiffani!
    Check out this video — it’s definitely hitting the shelves over here (I’m from Canada). My relatives’ store is actually in this news clip. I haven’t tried the cream yet though!

    http://www.globaltoronto.com/video/bb+cream+now+in+canada/video.html?v=2189937604#video

    Reply

    • Tiffani
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 08:50:46

      Thanks for sharing! I had no idea it was blowing up so quickly over there! I have been using it for a week now and I’m hooked. I was always too lazy for skin care, so I like the multi-functionality of BB cream so that in two minutes I feel like I’m protecting my skin and looking less tired. It rocks. 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

