The Road to Femininity #5 – Lather in the Shine

I came across the following video recently on Yahoo’s “The Thread.”  They sometimes bring on an expert from Herbal Essences to discuss hair issues and since my hair lately has been dull and lifeless, I totally feel like the girl from the commercial (ok not this one, I couldn’t find the one I wanted, but you get the idea)….

Most of what he said I already knew, but then he talked about how we could be adding shampoo and conditioner in the wrong way.  He says to mainly shampoo the roots and let the lather run through the ends.  Then with conditioner, focus on the tips and not so much the roots.  So, I gave his way a try.  I’ve been doing it for about a week now and I can honestly say I’ve noticed a difference!  I was focusing the products on the wrong ends of my hair!  Since it is working for me little by little, I thought I should pass on the info.

Here is the video.  No lie, I think the hostess of the video is over the top (I’m sure she is just performing the style of interview she is told to perform but still); however, I like the info.  Also, being a big fan of Herbal Essences, I’ll take any advice he wants to give me.

Are You Washing Your Hair Wrong?

Happy Lathering!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherrie
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 21:42:40

    I’ve learned a couple of things recently. Curly hair has less moisture, so conditioning is important. Even leaving in conditioning. Coconut oil was suggested, but I haven’t tried it yet. I have also switched to a wooden comb and the I rarely break my hair. With a plastic comb, I always had hair breakage.

    Reply

    • Tiffani
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 08:52:09

      Hey Sherrie! I hadn’t heard about the wooden comb thing, I’ll have to look for one of those. I think the coconut oil would smell nice on top of conditioning. Let me know if you try it. Hope you are doing well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

